THOUGHTS ON UNWANTED MANGOES

 

You probably have eaten mangoes in your entire life. You have tasted different ones– sour, not-so sour, and even tasted the sweetest one. But among all those mangoes I’m pretty sure you always remove the rotten part or simply, you just disregard eating and trash it instantly. Have you ever tried tasting those mangoes with a single rot? I did. It was just a day that has passed when I get to taste a rotten mango (it isn’t rotten all over actually, it’s just a bit big) perhaps you also did and to tell you, I have realized things.

 

rotten mango.jpg

This is exactly what it looks like I was not able to take a picture of the said rotten mango because it was too late when I thought of it, I ate it all up already but this one really looks like it.

 

It is not the appearance that matters. We always care about ones appearance. I have proven it myself, when I was done devouring the entire mangoes, there was one left  this is what I’m talking about, the last mango that doesn’t look fresh and good or should I say the unwanted one. I still tried to eat it. At first, I had this urge to just not to because of how it looks like. Bright yellow which symbolizes it is overripe covered with little dark spots and a huge one which obviously the rotten part. Think of it? It doesn’t really looks appealing to eat, right? I just have to eat it because I do not want to waste food. Regardless of what I think of what it would taste like, I still ate it. To my surprise, it wasn’t that gross. For me, it was the sweetest among all those mangoes. Yes, there were parts that I wasn’t able to eat because of the rot but it didn’t become a hindrance; the rest tasted just so sweet.

Stop judging things when you do not get to examine it yet. This is not only applicable for things, food or what but to humanity as well. Nowadays, people used to drag other people down when they think someone is achieving greater than what they have achieved, to make it worse these people instantly judge people by their looks and what they do. Isn’t it amazing when we all know of the famous quoted line “Nobody’s perfect.” and yet we still care to judge easily?  My board mates and I have judged this poor rotten mango because we didn’t care to taste it first, some people should think about the same too. Know the person first before doing a verdict. Once you judge you’re slowly ruining someone’s life. Why don’t you think of someone doing the same to you, Is it nice? If you think it isn’t, then stop judging.

“To such an extent does nature delight and abound in variety that among her trees there is not one plant to be found which is exactly like another; and not only among the plants, but among the boughs, the leaves and the fruits, you will not find one which is exactly similar to another”, said Leonardo Da Vinci.  Therefore, we are all different. Humans, fruits, trees, things and all the living and non-living things we are all not the same. Let us keep in mind that we must not expect too much on each other for it is not our mission to live to please an individual. In fact, we should embrace our differences, not be afraid of them and we should never judge a person on our first impression which is often about how he or she looks. Taking the time to get to know the person within is a far better indicator than pre-judging them on appearances alone. Just like what I mistakenly did, if I had just take a look on the physical appearance of that rotten mango, I wouldn’t have tasted its sweetness and also, I wouldn’t be able to realize the beauty and motivation that it has given to us. mango mango

This is such a wonderful thought to think of especially these days when most people choose to censure their individuals without knowing a thing. I came up with a realization to not loquaciously talk shits as easy as that to other people though I already know that, we probably need to be reminded sometimes for us not to forget that important thing.

For this event, I was really amazed to the fact that I could relate a simple rotten mango to the reality of criticism and being unwanted. Surely, you think this entire post is as shallow as ones naive intellect but come to think of it, put yourself on that unwanted mango’s situation and you will be the one that’s always left and trashed. How does it feel then? Only you could answer that, your answer is what I’m talking about. This is definitely shallow if you give no importance to your surroundings. I’ll leave it right here. It was midnight when I ate those mangoes same time when that sudden realization came. How I wish to have lots of sudden realization each day so it is not only I who would be enlighten, also my readers.

And lastly, I appreciate the vendor who put that rotten mango as part of what we bought and also, I thank the rotten mango for giving us thoughts of enlightenment.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑